FB pixel

斯里兰卡的历史

史前史

斯里兰卡在不同时期有不同的名字,例如Lankadipa,Tambapanni,Sihaladipa,Lanka,Ilam,Hsia-Ian-Shan,Palaesimundu,Salica,Sarandib,Seilan,Seng-kia-la,Serendib,Seyllen,Sieladiba,Taprobana,Taprobane。

Ptolemy World Map steuart holidays sri lanka

根据印度神话,斯里兰卡有个伟大的国王叫做Ravana。据说,神话(Ramayana)里的他不止统治了斯里兰卡,他还统治了印度部分地方。由于有许多民间故事和村庄名字叫做Seetha Eliya,Ravana Ella,Wariyapola,感觉跟神话脱不开干系,因此这个神话也更加深入人心。

在神话的结尾,Ravana被亲哥哥出卖,斯里兰卡王国被敌人攻下。作为回报,Ravana的哥哥获得国家的王位。

Ramayana把Ravana统治下的的兰卡比喻为地球上的天堂。

虽然我们不能够找到Ravana时期的证据,考古研究明确地显示了早在公元前27000就有人类的存在。Batadomba Lena,Beli Lena,Balangoda等等显示了在旧石器时代,中石化,和新石器时代就已经有人类活动。著名的Balangoda人就是这些考古的结果。

  • 旧石器时代- 早期的石器时代(公元前200万~ 13,000年)
  • 中石化 – 中期的石器时代(公元前13,000年~8000年)
  • 新石器时代 – 晚石器时代(公元前8,000年~4000年)

岛上最古老的人类活动区域包含北部的Nagadipa,中部的Malayadesha,南部的Rohana。第一个外来入侵发生在公元前217年。两名泰米尔兄弟,Sena和Gutthika,入侵了该国家,拿下了整个王国。那时候,国家分为,

  • Pihitirata – 北部
  • Malayadesa – 中部
  • Ruhunurata – 南部

在和平时期,这些分部受同一朝代国王的统治。Pihitirata是主要的王国,另外两个算它的附属国,所以保证了国家统一。在外国占领时期,这些王国各立成国。南印度王国一共发起20次的侵略,Chola,Pandyan,和Kalinga等等。

但是他们从来没有统治Malayarata和Ruhunurata;他们有时候统治pihitirata,并成功地歼灭Rohana和Malaya的首都。僧伽罗国王总会通过击败敌人来解救和统一整个国家。

但是北边住着一些战败的印度士兵。他们向内部及外部敌人提供信息,承担雇佣军的角色。在Yapahuwa时代,Ariyachakrawarthy将军侵略该国家。自那之后,Yapapatuna有Ariyachakrawarthy王国。Ariyachakrawarthy成为了一个朝代,统治了Yapapatuna和Wanni。有时是盟国,有时是敌人。在Bhuwanekabahu 五世时期(1373年-1404年),Chakravarty和僧伽罗国王之间曾经发生战争,Chakravarty的军队被打败了,于是回到了Yapapatuna。

Kotte(1412年-1468年) 时期的Parakramabahu国王再次变得暴力。分裂与统一。国王的儿子Sapumal王子占领了Ariyachakrawarthy,最后统一了斯里兰卡,直到公元后1815年。

 

Vijaya国王

King Vijaya history steuart holidays sri lanka

 

在公元前543年,Vijaya国王带着700人从Lata过来。在斯里兰卡王后Kuweni的帮助下,他夺得王位。Kuweni跟Vijaya有两个小孩。之后Vijaya抛弃了他们。据说Veddhas是这俩孩子的后裔。之后,Vijaya与Padi Rata公主结婚,成为斯里兰卡的国王。他的阁僚成立了Anuradhagama, Upatissagama, Uruwela和Vijitha乡村。Vijaya统治国家的时间长达38年。

Pandukabaya国王

Pandukabaya的父亲不是Vijaya的后裔,但他属于Raksha的一员。他在他的童年时期流亡,因为有一个预言指出他将会杀死他所有的舅舅。预言终于实现,除了一位舅舅,其余都被他杀光。在Rakshas的帮助下,他成为了斯里兰卡的国王。他统治国家时间长达70年,是所有斯里兰卡国王中统治时间最久的。

Dewanampiyatissa国王

dewanam piyathissa history sri lanka steuart holidays sri lanka

 

印度的Asoka皇帝是Dewanampiyatissa国王未曾谋面的朋友。在那时,Asoka皇帝派他儿子Mahinda Thera传佛教,建造了Thuparamaya, Isurumuniya, Vessagiriya, Prathamaka Stupaya,Mahapaliya, Jambukola Viharaya和Thisa Weva。

Dutugemunu-Elara 战争

dutugamunu history steuart holidays sri lanka

Gemunu王子三次向他的父亲要求与Elara并肩作战,但没获得准许。为了攻打泰米尔人,Gemunu王子离开了Maghama。起初他在Guththila遇敌方的抵抗。接着,他拿下了Vijithapura堡垒。这花了四个月时间,Elara向南印度的Balluka,Elara的女婿,要求支援。Dutugemunu随着就拿下了Girila和Mahela堡垒。最后,Dutugemunu和Elara决斗,Elara乘坐Maha Parwatha Tusker,Dutugemnu乘坐Kadol Tusker。Elara国王被Dutugemunu给打败了。Balluka带着60,000名士兵前来但Dutugemunu也把他们给打败了。他在国家和佛教发展方面做足了功课。建立了Misisawetiya, Lowahamahapaya(7楼的建筑物),Ruwanweliseya等等。Dutugemunu国王把整个国家给联合起来,在一面国旗下进行统治。

Walagamba国王

由于泰米尔入侵,他便到许多不同的地方躲藏。他在Maghama组成了军队然后称霸阿努拉德普勒,杀死Datiya以及再次成为国王。建立了Abayagiriya,Somarama Vihara和Dambulla Vihara。发布了Thripitakaya at Aluvihare at Matale。

25年在泰米尔的控制下

来自印度的6位泰米尔王子,杀死了Miththasena国王,统治了Pihiti Rata,统治时间长达25年。6位王子分别是Pandu, Parinda,Kuda Parinda,Thirithara,Dhathiya和Peetiya。在这个时期,僧加拉王子逃离到南部。Mahavihara的Thera带领军队杀死泰米尔统治者,成为Dhatusena国王。

阿努拉德普勒时期到Polonnaruwa时期

因为财政问题,金库全空,国王逃离到Ruhuna。阿努拉德普勒陷入无政府状态。在公元993年Solee的Raja国王派了庞大的军队来消灭掠夺阿努拉德普勒。在公元1018年,Solee把Mihidu 五世带到自己的管辖区内。

Vijayaba国王

Vijayaba在公元1055年成为Ruhuna的国王。随后,他向Solee开战,并重新征服了阿努拉德普勒和波隆纳鲁沃。Solee rata获取支援,但最终Vijayaba国王成功打败了他们。75年之后,斯里兰卡在Solee执政下获得独立。他从缅甸带来Bikshus,来发展佛教。同时,他还修复了Vihara的水池和运河。他也是位优秀的诗人。

Maha Parakramabahu

King Parakramabahu history sri lanka steuart holidays

他在Ruhuna的童年时期,文武双全。征服了Polonnaruwa,成为一国之主。他背负四个使命。

  1. 人民的满意度
  2. 拥护佛教
  3. 拥护贵族
  4. 保证贫民日常用品需求

通过建造池塘,点缀公园来美化Polonnaruwa城市。建造了Alabana Piriwena, Lankatilaka Pilimageya,Baddaseema皇宫,Rupawathie Chaiththya,Kiri Vehera,Subadda Chaiththya,Galviharaya,Demala Seya,Jethawanaramaya,Thiwanka Pilimageya,Nelum Pokuna和Pothgul Viharaya。

卡林加Magha

Magha,一位卡林加的王子以2400名士兵侵略了岛屿之后征服了国家。他通过继承权夺得僧加拉的王位(卡林加国王和僧伽罗国王联姻成为亲戚)。Magha是一位非常残忍的国王。他虐待僧伽罗人,杀死那些反抗他的人,洗劫一切。他消灭了很多Chethiyas,蹂躏Viharas,虐待Bhikkus,放火烧毁图书馆。

斯里兰卡在1215年至1235年都处于火海之中。

Magha是该国家最残暴的统治者。

佛牙藏在Kothmale,他没能找到。

最后,Magha被Parakramabahu二世打败,失去了王位。

Parakramabahu VI国王

小时候住在Veedagama寺庙。Vijayanagar皇帝派士兵来征服斯里兰卡,但Parakramabahu六世国王击败了他们。

Rajasinhe 一世国王

1554年至1593年 这39年的执政期间,Seethawaka算优秀的格斗者,率领军队,攻打过几次葡萄牙人,最终在康提战败Vimaladharmasooriya。

葡萄牙

Portuguese Ceylon history sri lanka steuart holidays

 

在1505至1658年,葡萄牙锡兰,是葡萄牙统治斯里兰卡的一段历史。葡萄牙人最初与锡兰Kotte王国争锋,他们之间签署了一个协议。征服了Kotte及附近的僧伽罗王国后,葡萄牙锡兰成立。在1565年,葡萄牙锡兰的首都从Kotte改成科伦坡。葡萄牙人提倡基督教,引起了与僧伽罗人的冲突。

荷兰锡兰

dutch ceylon history sri lanka steuart holidays

荷兰锡兰曾是斯里兰卡的一个省,是荷兰东印度公司成立,从1640年持续到1796年。在17世纪早期,斯里兰卡分别受葡萄牙人和僧伽罗王国管制,这两方一直以来互相厮杀。虽然葡萄牙人在战争中无法取胜,对于受他们管制的人来说,颇受摧残。在荷兰陷入与西班牙统治的战争时,僧伽罗国王(康提的国王)获得荷兰人支援,一起打败了葡萄牙人。当时锡兰对于荷兰的好处在于能共同对抗伊比利亚人。

英属锡兰

British Ceylon history sri lanka steuart holidays

 

英属锡兰也叫做锡兰,在1815年到1948年之间,属于英国殖民地。起初,康堤不属于英国管辖,1815年以来,康堤为摄政政体。但从1817年到1948年,英国殖民地包括了锡兰的整个岛屿,也就是现在的斯里兰卡。

斯里兰卡终于在1948年获得独立,但该国家仍受大英帝国的统治。

在1972年,斯里兰卡成为共和国。在1978年推出了一套宪法,让执行主席担任国家的领袖。斯里兰卡内战在1983年爆发,其中包括在1987至1989年的青年武装起义,这场持续25年的内战于2009年结束。

Facebook
Twitter
Google+
LinkedIn
Pinterest
Visit Our Blog

Sri LankaSri Lanka
Forgot password?

History of Sri Lanka

Prehistory

Sri Lanka was known by several names from time to time as Lankadipa, Tambapanni, Sihaladipa, Lanka, Ilam,Hsia-Ian-Shan, Palaesimundu, Salica, Sarandib, Seilan, Seng-kia-la, Serendib, Seyllen, Sieladiba, Taprobana, Taprobane in the history of sri lanka.

Ptolemy World Map steuart holidays sri lanka

According to Hindu mythology Sri Lanka had a great king called Ravana. According to this mythology (Ramayana) he has not only rule united Sri Lanka, he ruled some parts of India too.We just cannot forget about this as there are many folk tales and village names such as Seetha Eliya, Ravana Ella, Wariyapola which seem to have direct connections to the story.

At the end of mythology, Ravana was betrayed by his own brother and kindom of Sri Lanka was overrun by the enemies.As a gift Ravana’s brother got the crown of the country.

Ramayana describes Ravana’s Lanka as a paradise on earth.

Even though we cannot find any hard proof to Ravana’s era,archeological experiments clearly show that there were human beings and activities even before 27000 B.C. Excavations at Batadomba Lena, Beli Lena, Balangoda etc.reveals human activities in Paleolithic, Mesolithic, and Neolithic eras. Famous Balangoda Man is a result of these excavations.

  • Paleolithic – Early stone age (2 mil ~ 13,000 years BC)
  • Mesolithic – Middle stone age (13,000 ~ 8000 years BC)
  • Neolithic – Late stone age (8000 ~ 4000 years BC)

The oldest division of the Island comprises Nagadipa in the north, Malayadesha in the central, and Rohana in the south.First foreign invasion came in 217 BC. Two Tamil brothers, Sena and Gutthika, invaded the country and took over the kingdom. That time country was divided into,

  • Pihitirata – North
  • Malayadesa – Central
  • Ruhunurata – South

At the peace time these divisions were ruled by kings in a same dynasty. Pihitirata was the main kingdom and other two paid tribute to the main kingdom. So country remained as a united country.At the time of foreign occupations the kingdoms operated separately.There were about 20 invasions from south Indian kingdoms; Chola, pandyan, kalinga etc.

But never they ruled Malayarata and Ruhunurata; only pihitirata they ruled sometimes though they managed to destroy the capitals of Rohana and Malaya.Time to time Sinhala kings rescued and unified the country by defeating the invaders.

But the northern area harboured remnants of defeated Indian armies. They acted as information sources and mercenaries to the inside and outside enemies.At the Yapahuwa era tamil general Ariyachakrawarthy invaded the country. From that time on there was a kingdom of aryachakrawarthy’s at Yapapatuna. Aryachakrawarthy became a dynasty and ruled Yapapatuna and Wanni. Sometimes as allies, sometimes as foes. There were wars between Chakrawarthy’s and Sinhala kings at the period of Bhuwanekabahu V (1373-1404) and chakrawarthy’s armies were defeated and limited to Yapapatuna.

At the time of King Parakkramabahu V1 of Kotte(1412-1468 once again Yapapatuna became aggressive.Diversifications and unifications. So the king’s son, prince Sapumal conquered Aryachakrawarthy and made the Sri Lanka united for the last time until 1815 AD.

King Vijaya

King Vijaya history steuart holidays sri lanka

King Vijaya Came from Lata with 700 people at 543BC. With the help of Sri Lankan queen Kuweni, he captured the crown of the country .Kuweni had two chilren from Vijaya. Later
Vijaya abandoned them. Veddhas believed to be descended from these children. Later, Vijaya married to a princess from Padi Rata and consecrated as the king of Sri Lanka His ministers found villages Anuradhagama, Upatissagama, Uruwela and Vijitha.Vijaya reigned country for 38 years.

King Pandukabaya

Pandukabaya’s farther was not a descendent of Vijaya, but a member of Raksha race.There was a prophecy that Pandukabaya would kill his all uncles, hence he was in exile in his childhood. Truing the prophecy, he killed all his uncles, except one, with the help of Rakshas and became the king of Sri Lanka. He ruled the country for 70 years, which is the longest period, a king ever reigned in Sri Lanka.

King Dewanampiyatissa

dewanam piyathissa history sri lanka steuart holidays sri lanka

Emperor Asoka of India was an unseen friend of king Dewanam Piya Tissa.During his time, emperor Asoka sent Buddhism with his son Mahinda thera.Put up Thuparamaya, Isurumuniya, Vessagiriya, Prathamaka Stupaya, Mahapaliya, Jambukola Viharaya, Thisa Weva.

Dutugemunu-Elara War

dutugamunu history steuart holidays sri lanka

Prince Gemunu requested permission three times from his farther to fight with Elara, but he was not given. Prince Gemunu left from Maghama to fight with Tamils. First he was faced resistance at Guththila. Then he overrun Vijithapura Fortress. It was taken 4 months, and Elara request reinforcements from Balluka of South India, who was the son-in-law of Elara. Then Dutugemunu overun Girila and Mahela Fortresses also. Finally there was a duel between Dutugemunu and Elara. Elara was on the Maha Parwatha Tusker and Dutugemnu was on Kadol Tusker. King Elara was defeated by Dutugemunu. Balluka came with 60,000 solders but Dutugemunu defeated them also. He did lot of work for the development of country and the Buddhism. Put up Misisawetiya, Lowahamahapaya(7 story building), Ruwanweliseya etc. King Dutugemunu united the country and ruled under one flag.

King Walagamba

Due to Tamil invasion he was hide out at several places.He formed army at Maghama and dominated Anuradhapua, killed Datiya and became the King again Put up Abayagiriya, Somarama Vihara and Dambulla Vihara. Published Thripitakaya at Aluvihare at Matale.

25 years under Tamil Control

6 Tamil Princes came from India, killed King Miththasena and ruled the Pihiti Rata for 25 years. Pandu, Parinda, Kuda Parinda, Thirithara, dhathiya and Peetiya are the princes.During above period Sinhala princes ran away to Southern area. One Thera at Mahavihara disrobed and led the troopes and killed the Tamil ruler. Who became the King Dhatusena.

Anuradhapuraera to Polonnaruwa era

Due to financial problems Treasury became empty and the King ran way to Ruhuna.Anuradhapura became anarchy. In 993AC Solee King Raja Raja sent a large army to destroy and loot Anuradhapura. Solee took King Mihidu V to their custody in 1018.

King Vijayaba

Vijayaba became the king for the Ruhuna in 1055. Later, he did a war against Solee and recaptured the Anuradhapura and Polonnaruwa. Reinforcements came from Solee rata, but king Vijayaba defeated them successfully.After 75 years, Sri Lanka became independent from Solee administration.He brought Bikshus from Burma to develop Buddhism. Repaired most of Vihara’s Repaired tanks and canals. He was a good poet.

Maha Parakramabahu

King Parakramabahu history sri lanka steuart holidays

Developed literature and art of fighting during childhood in Ruhuna. Captured Polonnaruwa and became the king for thr whole country. He had four Missions with him

1. Satisfaction of people

2. Protection of Buddhism

3. Protect the nobles.

4. Supplying necessities for poor

Developed and decorated the city of Polonnaruwa with ponds and parks. Put up Alabana Piriwena, Lankatikaka Pilimageya, Baddaseema Palace, Rupawathie Chaiththya, Kiri Vehera, Subadda Chaiththya. Built up Galviharaya, Demala Seya, Jethawanaramaya, Thiwanka Pilimageya, Nelum Pokuna and Pothgul Viharaya.

Kalinga Magha

Magha, a prince of Kalinga invaded the island with 2400 troops and conquered the country.He claimed Sinhala throne by right of inheritance (Kalinga kings and Sinhala kings were related by marriages. Magha was a very cruel ruler. He tortured Sinhala people, killed who resisted, looted everything possible. He destroyed many Chethiyas, revaged the Viharas, tortured Bhikkus and set fire to libraries.

  • Sri Lanka was set fire from 1215-1235
  • Magha was the most cruelest ruler country ever had.
  • But he couldn’t captured the Tooth Relic, which was hidden in Kothmale.

Finnaly Magha was defated by King Parakramabahu II and regained the power.

King Parakramabahu VI

Stayed at Veedagama temple during his childhood. Vijayanagar emperor sent troops to capture Sri Lanka, but king Parakramabahu VI defeated them. Sent prince Sapumal to Jaffna and defeated Arya Chakrawarthie and controlled the whole country.Send navy to South India and collected tributes.

King Rajasinhe I

1554-1593 39 years Seethawaka Good fighter. Attacked several times to Portuguese. Lost to Vimaladharmasooriya I in Kandy.

Portuguese

Portuguese Ceylon history sri lanka steuart holidays

Portuguese Ceylon was a Portuguese territory in present-day Sri Lanka, representing a period in Sri Lankan history from 1505–1658. The Portuguese first encountered the Ceylonese kingdom of Kotte, with whom they signed a treaty. Portuguese Ceylon was established through the occupation of Kotte and the conquest of surrounding Sinhalese kingdoms. In 1565 the capital of Portuguese Ceylon was moved from Kotte to Colombo. The introduction of Christianity by the Portuguese furthered friction with the Sinhalese people.

Dutch Ceylon

dutch ceylon history sri lanka steuart holidays

Dutch Ceylon was a governorate established in present-day Sri Lanka by the Dutch East India Company. It existed from 1640 and 1796. In the early 17th century, Sri Lanka was partly ruled by the Portuguese and the Sinhala Kingdom, who were constantly battling each other. Although the Portuguese were not winning the war, their rule was rather burdensome to the people of those areas controlled by them. While the Dutch were engaged in a long war of independence from Spanish rule, the Sinhalese king (the king of Kandy) invited the Dutch to help defeat the Portuguese. The Dutch interest in Ceylon was to have a united battle front against the Iberians at that time.

British Ceylon

British Ceylon history sri lanka steuart holidays

British Ceylon known contemporaneously as Ceylon, was a British Crown colony between 1815 and 1948. At first the area it covered did not include the Kingdom of Kandy, which was a protectorate from 1815, but from 1817 to 1948 the British possessions included the whole island of Ceylon, now the nation of Sri Lanka

Independence was finally granted in 1948 but the country remained a Dominion of the British Empire.

In 1972 Sri Lanka assumed the status of a Republic. A constitution was introduced in 1978 which made the Executive President the head of state. The Sri Lankan Civil War began in 1983, including an armed youth uprising in 1987–1989, with the 25 year-long civil war ending in 2009.

Facebook
Twitter
Google+
LinkedIn
Pinterest